Topic: Classification

What is classification?

Classification is the method used divide organisms into separate segments. the segments that the organisms are divided into are called the animal kingdoms. They are divided by the difference in their cellular structure. There are 5 different animal kingdoms – Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae and Animalea.

1) Animalea are eukaryotic and not have a cell wall. They have a hormonal and nervous control system; they are heterotrophic which means the can eat and digest food.

The animal kingdom contains many phyla. Some of them are: 
Vertebrates, Arthropods, Annelids, Molluscs, Nematodes


2) Plantae are eukaryotic and multicellular. They have a cell wall; they are autotropic which means they use photosynthesis to make their own energy. Some parts of a plant are green, thanks to pigment chlorophyll. Chlorophyll absorbs energy from sunlight for plant to make glucose, using CO2 and H2O from environment. This is called photosynthesis. They also have a unique gas exchange system; they take in carbon dioxide and release oxygen


3) Fungi are eukaryotic and are also multicellular like animals and plants but unlike them, fungi can be unicellular as well. They have a cell wall and they are heterotrophic and saprotrophic which means they can digest food and are also parasitic.


4) Protista are eukaryotic and have a cell wall. They are both unicellular and multicellular; they are heterotrophic and autotrophic.

This is a the structure of a Protista

Biological Diversity 3

5) Monera are prokaryotic and unicellular. They do not have organelles which are seen in eukaryotes. They are very small compared to most eukaryotes; they also have cell walls and are autotrophic, they use photosynthesis and chemosynthesis to get energy. Some monera can carry out photosynthesis. The oldest fossils belong to this kingdom, so we think that they were the first kinds of organisms to evolve. 

This is the structure of a monera

cell numbercell wallnucleus chorophyllmake food
Bacteriaunicellular with
simple parts
Protistaunicellular with
complex parts
Animalea multicellular(+)(+)(+)(-)
This table shows characteristics of each kingdom.

This picture shows some examples from each kingdom-